PDA

View Full Version : Ithaca Gun Company Model 37 12ga....

dave_in_delaware
July 28, 2005, 03:21 PM
Hello everyone. I inherited an Ithaca Gun Company, Model 37, 12 gauge shotgun from my grandfather and was wondering about it. I'm totally new to guns, so I have no idea about this gun. Didn't the company go out of business recently? I had emailed them a few months ago asking about the gun, getting a manual for it, and data they had on it... and all they wanted me to do with the gun was send it to them so they could check it out. Good thing I didn't; they probably would have kept it for their own as they went out of business! Anyway, does anyone here have this gun? Do you like it? Is it something I should keep and get some test-firing at the range on it? I don't hunt, nor do I plan on hunting. I do shoot my handgun at the range, but I'm not sure if a shotgun is something I want/need to keep at home. Any suggestions or thoughts on this? (Other than making an offer for it, although that may be an answer in the future). Thanks.

Dfariswheel
July 28, 2005, 07:52 PM
Ithaca did fold a few weeks ago, but they did NOT "keep for their own" anybodies guns. ALL guns are being returned to their owners.

The Ithaca Model 37 is a keeper.
It was the last gun designed by the great John Browning, and was the last of the old time, solid milled steel shotguns, still being made.

The Ithaca is an excellent shotgun, and served the sportsman, military, and police for many years.

The Ithaca was famous for being the shotgun issued by the LAPD for many years, and was the issue gun of the Navy SEAL's during Vietnam.

These are excellent guns, and you might want to hang on to it, even if you have no need today.
Some day you'll want a good shotgun and will wish you had it back.

gordo b.
July 28, 2005, 08:11 PM
Agree with they above-completely. Nothing like a featherlight 16 or 20 for certain bird shooting IMHO ! :)

dogfood
July 28, 2005, 08:43 PM
d_in_d:

Three rules come to mind: