PDA

View Full Version : Stay put or go investigate?

hawken50
March 2, 2005, 01:46 AM
ok, let me start off by saying i don't want to know what you'd do. i want to know what you think i should do. i'm 25, and in ok shape. i'm a veteran but never saw combat. (Go Navy!) i am not an leo. not a black belt. not a sniper. although i would like to think i'm a pretty good shot with a rifle, i'm probably just an average shot with a pistol. i have had training with a pistol but the navy dosen't put a big emphsis on sidearms with it's hole snipes (engineers). i have a flashlight, a 40 s&w pistol and a couple spare mags in a small safe next to my nightstand. also keep in mind i live in ny.

so considering all that, if i was awoken one night to the sounds of someone breaking into my house, what should i do? obviously grab the gun. obviously call the cops. obviously get the wife and daughter barracaded in one room. but then what? sit and wait? sneek downstairs and investigate? yell out "i'm armed so youd better clear out!"? what if i couldn't reach the police? wait untill all sounds ok?

just looking for opinions.

tlm225
March 2, 2005, 02:32 AM
Per your scenario (known break-in in progress) sit tight, prepare to defend your position from intruder. Even if (or especially if) police cannot be summoned your primary duty/responsibility is to protect your loved ones from harm. By venturing out you risk ambush by intruders. Clearing a residence is difficult enough for two trained officers, let alone doing it solo. As for shouting a warning I see it as a toss up, on the one hand they may flee. On the other hand you just gave away your position.

Maxprime
March 2, 2005, 03:04 AM