PDA

View Full Version : Benelli vs. all others

hdm25
May 30, 2000, 06:47 PM
A friend of mine and I have a good-natured argument going and I'd like some more opinions. I am a civilian with no training in the use of a shotgun whatsoever, though I have owned and fired both a Benelli M1 Super 90 and a Remington 11-87 Police. He is a SWAT cop with extensive weapons training and experience. He claims that the Benelli is the king of shotguns and that anything else pales by comparison. I see little real difference between it and the 11-87P that I have or an 870. Yes, the Benelli cycles quickly, but does that really matter? Do double-taps with a shotgun that are 1/4 second faster matter at all? And tac-loading a Benelli is easier but how often, other than in a competition or other made-up scenario, does transitioning from shot to slug really happen? The 870 has it's own manual of arms, of course, and I don't really include it in this post because I have no experience with them. Anyone with their opinions of any of the three, please post something. I would like some feedback.

P-35
May 30, 2000, 07:38 PM
I have shot the both the Benelli and the 870 extensively, both are easy to manipulate however, the manual of arms is very different for both. Compare any of these with some abortion like the SPAS-12, appropriately named I might add.

Personally, I like the Benelli over the Remington autoloader because the Benelli is recoil operated and I find it more reliable and easier to clean. That said, certain individual guns have a problem cycling the reduced recoil 9 pellet 00 load so I use 3" 00 buck for reliability. The other thing is, sticking a bunch of doo-dads like sidesaddles and lights on the gun can also cause funtioning problems.

The 870 is probably the best all around Shotgun, fires anything from bean-bags to slugs and lasts forever, and I mean forever!

Shawn Dodson
May 30, 2000, 08:16 PM